MY ACNE STORY

Growing up I’ve never had issues with my skin. I was the girl who could use anything on her skin and nothing will happen. i never even used actual facial wash, i always used my bathing soap to wash my face and i was fine. i didn’t have a single spot on my face and i never imagined i will BUT life laughed and showed me what it looked and felt like to have acne.

IMG_1472 (2)

This was my skin before the horrible outbreak of acne on my face. For years, my morning routine was to put the bathing soap on face then rinse it off when washing my body after bathing and that was the shameful truth of how i treated my face. But when i started doing a lot of makeup for content on my youtube channel i had to start using facial washes a help clean and cleanse my skin.

I noticed i was getting spots (pimples) on my forehead in August 2016 , just around the time i had been nominated for the Ghana Makeup Awards 2016. I didn’t take it too serious as we all get spots on our face from time to time , when we are in the time of the month or stressed and so on, so i assumed it will disappear on its own, But little did i know what was about to happen.

IMG_4070I experienced these little bumps all over my cheeks then i started to get worried but i still did nothing about it hoping that it will go. Then this happened from no where …

IMG_4071i was covered with acne on my forehead , down the bridge of my nose and JUST one side of my cheek! i was terrified ! i didn’t know how to feel or even what to do. I’m the type who never pops a pimple so i wasn’t about to start popping them because i didn’t want any scars on my face. I told my dad about it and sent him this picture so he sees whats happening, and he asked me to go to the hospital to get it checked. The next day, he called to ask me if i was pregnant and i burst out laughing because i wasn’t and i thought that was hilarious of him to think that far.

I called a few people and a makeup artist called Lawrencia recommended Rabito Clinic in Osu. I booked an appointment with the dermatologist there and i was told my hormones were imbalanced and i should also check my makeup collection to see what new stuff i had used prior to the breakout. so i decided to stop filming and focus on getting my skin back. It was torture for me because i had never experienced anything like this so i just wanted the acne off my face . i was just unhappy with the situation so i religiously took my medication even though i hate drugs, i took every last one of those pills.

Above is the medication prescribed to me by the doctor ( please make sure to get a prescription before you decide to go buy it). Pills which contained  Doxycycline 100 and Tretinon cream 0.05% to be applied on my skin. I did not use anything else on my skin apart from this cream and after a month and a half i saw changes and improvement of the acne.

IMG_4069
1st Stage of Acne Clearing up

The acne had cleared up but i was left with scars and texture on my face but i didn’t stop using the Tretinon 0.05% cream , i kept using it! Till i saw drastic improvements of my skin.

IMG_3841
2nd Stage of acne clearing up

All the dark marks and scars were disappearing and that was when i decided to take extra care of my skin in terms of having a proper skincare regime for morning and night.

i purchased these skincare products from AnC Mall MaxMart supermarket and a pharmacy at American house, inside the American House building .

IMG_2674I used the Clean & Clear Advantage daily wash morning and evening , then i’ll apply the simple spotlesss skin anti-blemish moisturizer after washing my face, then apply a tiny bit of the bio-oil on my skin at night . This was my routine each day and i made sure to use disposable tissue to wipe my face after washing it and not my regular body towel.

Finally i was able to get my skin to a better place .

IMG_4517 2
final stage of clearing up

I hope my story inspires you to take extra care of your skin, watch what you eat, drink lots of water , also make sure to see a doctor when you break out and lastly get a skincare regime or routine and stick to it.

If you want to see how i take care of my skin now and the products I’m currently using on my face , click on this -> My Skincare Routine  to watch how and what i use . Thanks for stopping by and i’d be happy to hear your thoughts so kindly leave a comment below ! lots of love – Jessica

4 Comments Add yours

  1. fheyi says:

    Thanks for sharing, am a really big fan of yours, I just started blogging recently too and I have been learning a lot from you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Saraphine says:

    so inspiring.. thanks for sharing this with us. could you blog on how you grew your relaxed hair?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. JES ISCAH says:

      I’ll do my best to blog on that soon

      Like

  3. TheHomeRehab says:

    Wow Thanks for sharing !

    Like

Leave a comment